During this difficult time, we remain open and available for you. We can conduct all consultations remotely. Please don’t hesitate to call us if you have any questions! Please stay healthy and safe.

Framingham Family Law Attorneys
Schedule A Consultation 888.209.7080
The Different Types of Spousal Support

The Different Types of Spousal Support

Spousal support, also known as alimony, is often differentiated by two different forms: short-term support or long-term support, also called permanent support. The judge will be the one to make decisions regarding which spouse will pay support and for how long.

In general, in the state of Massachusetts, the lesser-earning spouse will be the one to receive spousal support payments, as a way for that spouse to continue living the same level of comfort and livelihood experienced during the marriage.

Read our family law blog below for more information about alimony and spousal support payments!

Understanding the Types of Alimony

There are four different types of alimony: rehabilitative, reimbursement, transitional, and general alimony. There is a possibility that a spouse might receive one or more of the various types of alimony. For example, the lesser-earning spouse may request temporary alimony for financial support as the divorce process gets underway.

Our Framingham divorce lawyers break down the various types of alimony:

  • Rehabilitative alimony: This a form of short-term support that offers financial support to the spouse until the spouse has received enough training or obtained a degree to hold a job in the workforce. The receiving spouse must demonstrate that he or she is actively pursuing their goals.
  • Reimbursement alimony: It provides compensation to spouses if you received some form of financial support while you were attending school or needed additional training.
  • Transitional alimony: For marriages that lasted less than five years, a judge may issue transitional alimony to allow the receiving spouse time to make a new livelihood or relocate.
  • General alimony: This is awarded based on the duration of the marriage. A judge will take into consideration the length of the marriage including how much time each spouse provided emotional as well as financial support to one another during that time.

Massachusetts law states that general alimony will only last as long as the spouse who is providing support turns 65, which is considered the age one would typically retire. You may also modify the terms of your alimony agreements with a court-ordered modification.

As always, you can ask our Framingham divorce attorneys to learn more about your legal options regarding spousal support. We offer free case consultations to help get you started.


Contact Barach Law Group LLC Today

We are dedicated to the highest quality of representation for all of our clients.
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.